Skip to content

Groups

From the Smart PBX > Groups tab, create groups and add users to the group. After you add a group, apply settings at a group level and distribute calls among the users in the group. You can also include groups in callflows and menu options to direct callers to that group.

NOTE: You can add a maximum of 15 members to any group.

Creating groups

  1. Go to Smart PBX > Groups.
  2. Click Add Group

  3. Enter a name for the group.

  4. Enter a 3-digit group extension.
  5. Select the users you want to include in the group by dragging them from the "Available Users" column to "Selected Users".
  6. Click Create Group.
  7. The group will appear as an option for call routing in the Smart PBX: see also Incoming Call Handling.

The group now displays in the table. You can edit the group by clicking on the columns in the table. See Updating group settings.

Updating group settings

  1. Go to Groups.
  2. Under the Group settings column, click the group that you want to update.
  3. Change the group name or change the number of times the group should be redialled if the line is busy (dialing repeats).

  4. Save your changes.

Note

You can quickly add or edit the group phone numbers and extension by clicking on those columns in the table. You can add multiple phone numbers and extensions for each group.

Updating call distribution between group members

  1. Go to Groups.
  2. Under the Members column, click on the group that you want to update.
  3. Drag the green bar to apply a custom time duration for each group member for all incoming calls. When the time runs out, the call is routed to the next group member and so on.

  4. Click Distribute to evenly distribute the calls across all group members.

  5. Save your changes.

Adding or updating optional group features

  1. Go to Groups.
  2. Under the Group Features column, click on the group that you want to update.

  3. Click on the feature that you want to enable:

    • Call Recording: Enable call recording for the group and specify the URL where the recording can be accessed. Add the format (mp3. or.wav`) - 5MB maximum, and specify the time limit for the recording here.

    NOTE: There is no time limit on how long you can record calls for, but each account has a data limit for stored recordings.

    • Ringback: Enable group "ringback" settings to apply the ringing media that should play until one of the members of the group can answer the call.

    • Next Action: Enable "next action" to specify what should occur if all the users in the group are unavailable or if the timeout duration for all members (configured in Members > Distribute ) has expired. You can forward to a menu, a user, a device, or a voicemail box.

    • Allow Call-Forward: Enable "allow call forward" to allow any user in the group to forward the call. If this option is disabled it will ignore the users request.

    • Caller ID Prepend: Enable a caller ID prefix to all incoming calls to the group. For example, enter a shortname for the group in the Caller ID Name prefix field.

  4. For each feature, apply the relevant settings and save your changes.

Deleting a group

  1. Go to Groups.
  2. Under the Group Settings column, click on the group that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete Group, then Ok.

More information